Lofton, Jr. named to Lute Olson Mid-Season Award watch list

Courtesy of Louisiana Tech Strategic Athletic Communications

RUSTON – Louisiana Tech’s Kenneth Lofton, Jr. was one of 30 players named to the Mid-Season Watch List for the 2021-22 Lute Olson National Player of the Year award, announced Wednesday by

Lofton is currently averaging a double-double while leading LA Tech in scoring at 16.7 points per game and in rebounding at 10.8 boards per game.  His rebounding average ranks ninth in the country while his nine double-doubles ranks sixth.  He is also shooting 55.7 percent from the field, which ranks first in Conference USA. 

The Port Arthur, Texas native has won C-USA Player of the Week honors twice and is one of only two players in Division I to post multiple 30-point/10-rebound games.  He had a career-high 36 points to go along with 17 boards at NC State and had 31 points and 14 rebounds in a win at Santa Clara.

Prior to the season, Junior was named to the Karl Malone Award Watch List and the Naismith Trophy Watch List.

The Lute Olson Award, which is presented annually to the top player in Division I College Basketball, is named in honor of Hall of Fame coach Lute Olson.

For all the latest in Bulldog Basketball, follow them on Twitter (@LATechHoops), Instagram (@LATechHoops) and Facebook (LATechMBB).


2021-22 Lute Olson Award Mid-Season Watch List

James Akinjo, Baylor

Keve Aluma, Virginia Tech

Armando Bacot, North Carolina

Paolo Banchero, Duke

Alex Barcello, BYU

Christian Braun, Kansas

Julian Champagnie, St. John’s

Kofi Cockburn, Illinois

Johnny Davis, Wisconsin

Tari Eason, LSU

Zach Edey, Purdue

Collin Gillespie, Villanova

Chet Holmgren, Gonzaga

Jaden Ivey, Purdue

Trayce Jackson-Davis, Indiana

Johnny Juzang, UCLA

Christian Koloko, Arizona

Hyunjung Lee, Davidson

E.J. Liddell, Ohio State

Kenneth Lofton, Jr., Louisiana Tech

Isaiah Mobley, USC

Wendell Moore, Duke

Keegan Murray, Iowa

Jahvon Quinerly, Alabama

Orlando Robinson, Fresno State

David Roddy, Colorado State

Jabari Smith, Auburn

Drew Timme, Gonzaga

Oscar Tshiebwe, Kentucky

Alondes Williams, Wake Forest

To report an issue or typo with this articleCLICK HERE