Three Ruston students inducted into the Order of the Engineer

Three Louisiana Tech students from Ruston were recently inducted into the College of Engineering and Science’s Order of the Engineer, an honorary organization dedicated to upholding the standards and dignity of the engineering professions.

The three Ruston students were Justin Griffin, a chemical engineering major; James Henry, a cyber engineering major; and Brandon Vessel, a cyber engineering major.

The COES inducted 104 students and professionals into the Order of the Engineer. This ceremony took place  at the University’s Integrated Engineering and Science Building (IESB) earlier this month.. 

During the ceremony, initiates received Engineer’s Rings, stainless steel rings placed on the fifth finger of the working hand as a visible symbol and reminder of their dedication to high ethical and professional standards. At the same ceremony, they voluntarily signed the Obligation of an Engineer and vowed to use their skills as engineers to serve the public with integrity and honesty. 

“The Order of the Engineer is dedicated to fostering a sense of responsibility and community among professionals,” Dr. Hisham Hegab, COES Dean, said. “I’m pleased that so many of our students pledged to uphold the high standards that Louisiana Tech sets for its engineering and science graduates throughout their careers.” 

“Induction into the Order of the Engineer is an important step in an engineer’s career,” Dr. Heath Tims, Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies for the College of Engineering and Science, added. “That so many of these students were willing to take the oath is a testament to the high educational standards and the sense of community that Tech COES graduates carry with them after their undergraduate education ends.” 

The Order of the Engineer has been inducting members for more than 50 years and is open to engineering seniors. Graduates from colleges with ABET-accredited curricula registered professional engineers and exceptional engineers throughout the United States. 

To report an issue or typo with this articleCLICK HERE