Tech’s Floyd named C-USA Rookie of the Year

Allie Floyd (00) is the third LA Tech player in the past four years to earn the Conference USA Freshman of the Year award.

Courtesy of LA Tech Athletic Communications

Louisiana Tech pitcher Allie Floyd was named the Conference USA Freshman of the Year as four Lady Techsters garnered honors by a vote of the league coaches.

For the second-consecutive year, centerfielder Sierra Sacco was named first-team all-conference, while outfielder Kylie Neel landed on the second team. In addition to winning Freshman of the Year, Floyd also was named to the All-Freshman team with teammate and fellow pitcher Mary Martinez.

Floyd became just the fourth player in Lady Techster history to earn the Freshman of the Year Award, joining Anna Cross (2013 Western Athletic Conference), Lindsay Edwards (2019 C-USA) and Sierra Sacco (2022 Conference USA). Floyd led LA Tech and ranked sixth in C-USA with 122 innings pitched while posting a 2.52 ERA and 1.11 WHIP. Her four saves ranked second among all C-USA pitchers. Floyd led a LA Tech pitching staff that posted a 2.36 ERA, the lowest by a Tech team since 1999. The three C-USA Freshman of the Year Awards for Tech lead all C-USA programs since the Lady Techsters joined the conference in 2014.

Sacco became the first Lady Techster since Morgan Turkoly (2017-2019) to earn consecutive first-team honors as Sacco was named to the first team as a freshman in 2022. The Marrero, La., product leads Tech with 54 hits, 39 runs scored, 39 walks, and a .327 batting average. Sacco has 36 stolen bases this season, leading Conference USA and ranking 10th nationally. The sophomore is the all-time program leader in career batting average with a mark of .388. Sacco has made 114 consecutive starts in centerfield and reached base in 18 straight games.

Kylie Neel was named second-team all-conference after putting up incredible numbers this season. Neel led Tech with a .351 batting average, 52 hits, 45 RBI, five home runs, 11 doubles, and 80 total bases. Despite missing the final C-USA series at Western Kentucky she finished among the league leaders in numerous categories including: RBI (3rd, 45), Sacrifice Flies (T-3rd, 4), On-Base Percentage (7th, .462), Doubles (T-7th, 11), Batting Average (9th, .351), Runs Scored (10th, 33) and Walks (10th, 25). Neel carries a 23-game reached base streak into the conference tournament.

Martinez led Tech with a 10-3 record this season while posting a 2.12 ERA and 1.18 WHIP in 69.1 innings pitched. Martinez’s 10 wins were the seventh most in the conference, and her 2.12 ERA ranked eighth among all C-USA players. She allowed the fewest walks (12) and runs (22) of any C-USA pitcher this season. The Lady Techsters’ two All-Freshman selections are the most since 2021, when Tristin Court, Lauren Menzina, and Kylie Neel landed on the team.

The Lady Techsters will open play at the C-USA Tournament Wednesday at Noon when they take on Middle Tennessee. Fans wishing to purchase tickets to the tournament can do so by calling the Louisiana Ticket Office at 318-257-3631 or by going to Single-day and tournament passes are available.

2023 C-USA Softball All-Conference Award Winners

Player of the Year
Sierra Frazier, UAB

Pitcher of the Year
Gabby Sacco, Florida Atlantic

Freshman of the Year
Allie Floyd, LA Tech

Newcomer of the Year
Sam Gress, Charlotte

Coach of the Year
A.J. Daugherty, UAB

All-Conference USA First Team
C: Isabella Perez, FIU
C: Sierra Frazier, UAB
DP/UT: Ashleigh Washington, Charlotte
IF: Kassidy Krupit, Charlotte
IF: Laura Mealer, Middle Tennessee
IF: Kailey Gamble, North Texas
IF: Cierra Simon, North Texas
IF: TJ Webster, WKU
OF: Bailey Vannoy, Charlotte
OF: Sierra Sacco, LA Tech
OF: Taylor Davis, WKU
OF: Faith Hegh, WKU
P: Sam Gress, Charlotte
P: Gabby Sacco, Florida Atlantic
P: Ashley Peters, North Texas

All-Conference USA Second Team
C: Olivia Peterson, Florida Atlantic
C: Kalei Christensen, North Texas
DP/UT: Olivia Valbak, UAB
IF: Ella Whitney, FIU
IF: Shelby Echols, Middle Tennessee
IF: Julia Garcia, Middle Tennessee
IF: Mikayla Smith, North Texas
IF: Kat Ibarra, UTEP
OF: Kylie Neel, LA Tech
OF: Amaya Harris, Middle Tennessee
OF: Bella Wiggins, UAB
OF: Savannah Favre, UTEP
P: Gretchen Mead, Middle Tennessee
P: McKenzie Wagoner, North Texas
P: Leigha Kirby, UAB

Conference USA All-Freshman Team
Lena Elkins, Charlotte
Savanna Nguyen, Charlotte
Lexi Winters, Charlotte
Megan Kruger, FIU
Isabella Perez, FIU
Ella Whitney, FIU
Allie Floyd, LA Tech
Mary Martinez, LA Tech
Ansley Blevins, Middle Tennessee
Tatum Sparks, North Texas
Hannah Miles, UAB
Caitlin Russell, UAB
Kaytlan Kemp, WKU