RHS FBLA leads way at virtual state conference

Ruston High School’s Anna Katherine Thompson (Courtesy photo)

Submitted article

Ruston High School’s Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) did not let the change affect their participation for the most part and picked up where they left off last year, capturing the honor as the state’s top chapter (Gold Seal Chapter of Merit) for the third straight year at the Louisiana FBLA State Leadership Conference.

RHS FBLA remains one of only two Honorary Life Foundation Member chapters. Led by RHS FBLA President Hana Le, RHS FBLA captured 16 state titles, eight state runner-up titles, five third-place finishes, and nine fourth-place showings with all qualifying for the FBLA National Leadership Conference to be held this summer.

In addition to these winners, RHS FBLA added seven fifth-place showings, five sixth-place finishes, five seventh-place marks, two eight-place finishes, three ninth-place showings and two 10th-place marks. In total, RHS placed in the Top 10 in the state in 62 events, 38 of which qualified for nationals.

The RHS FBLA had several members place fifth through 10th. Placing 10th were Alexander Atassi (Computer Problem Solving) and Savannah Garrett (Organizational Leadership). Members placing ninth were John Maxwell (Agribusiness); Katelyn Williams (Introduction to Parliamentary Procedure); and Lauren Smith (Word Processing). Placing eighth were Peter Owen (Impromptu Speaking) and MacKenzie Ferguson (Personal Finance).

The five seventh-place winners were Meredith Edwards (Introduction to FBLA); Luke Wages (Introduction to Information Technology); Allison Johnson (Introduction to Public Speaking); MacKenzie Ferguson (Journalism); and Ellie Puljak (Organizational Leadership). Members who placed sixth were Sophie Puljak (Business Communication); Alexander Atassi (Cyber Security); Madelyn Ferguson (Introduction to Parliamentary Procedure); LaDaijah Thomas (Job Interview); and Kimberly McPhail (Personal Finance).

Ruston’s fifth-place winners included Joshua Nguyen (Accounting II); Meredith Edwards (Introduction to Parliamentary Procedures); Savannah Garrett (Management Decision Making); Ellie Puljak (Political Science); Avery Overstreet (Public Speaking); Joshua Ogden (Securities and Investments); and the team of Jed Denny, Triston Dumas, and Dennis Williams (Sports and Entertainment Management).

The RHS FBLA had many students qualify for nationals by placing third through fourth, depending on the event. The nine fourth-place qualifiers were Shelbee Fain (Accounting II); Moriah Jackson (Business Ethics); Shantorria Johnson (Client Services); Hana Le (Economics); Matthew Daulton (Health Care Administration); Katelyn Williams (Introduction to Business Presentation); Atlis Britt (Introduction to Business Procedures); Matthew Yates (Introduction to FBLA); and Sophie Puljak (Journalism).

Ruston’s five third-place national qualifiers include Thomas Rogers (Introduction to Financial Math); Annie Hoang (Introduction to Public Speaking); Cayla Richard (Ms. FBL); and Moriah Jackson (Public Speaking).

The RHS FBLA also had eight individual/team state runner-up placements. State Runner-ups were Moriah Jackson (Community Service Project); Kimberly Gardner (Graphic Design); Taryn Sternitzsky (Help Desk); Josh Nguyen (International Business); Jed Denny (Introduction to Business Procedures); Jason Willis (Mr. FBL); Matthew Daulton (Organizational Leadership); and the team of Joshua Ogden, Peter Owen, Lauren Smith, Alexis Thompson, and Matthew Yates (Parliamentary Procedures Team).

Louisiana’s state-leading 16 champions from Ruston High School at the Louisiana FBLA State Leadership Conference were Hana Le (Accounting II); Peter Owen (American Enterprise Project); the team of Masie Daughtry, Cayla Richard, and McGuire Toncrey (Broadcast Journalism); Jason Willis (Business Communication) Taryn Sternitzsky (Client Services); Anna-Katherine Thompson (Digital Video Production); RHS Chapter (Gold Seal Chapter of Merit); Thomas Rogers (Introduction to Business); Liam Purifoy (Introduction to Business Procedures); the team of Allison Johnson and Grisham Locke (Introduction to Events Planning); Hana Le (Local Chapter Annual Business Report); Anna-Katherine Thompson (Ms. FBL); Alexis Thompson (Networking Infrastructures); McGuire Toncrey (Supply Chain Management); Hana Le (Richard D. Clanton Memorial Scholarship); and Anna-Katherine Thompson (Louisiana Who’s Who)

Many of the RHs FBLA national qualifiers will have to decide which event that they will compete in as they won multiple titles but can only compete in one event at nations, with certain exceptions. Also note that for the first time in RHS FBLA history, Han Le captured the Richard D. Clanton Memorial Scholarship, which is based on the memory of the founder of FBLA, and comes with a cash prize as well as her name engraved on the Richard D. Clanton Memorial Scholarship plaque that is displayed at Northwestern State University.

Ruston High School’s Hana Le (Courtesy photo)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.