Aggies sweep District 2-B top baseball honors

By T. Scott Boatright

Choudrant High School is the Class B baseball champion, so it’s only fitting that the Aggies swept the major awards the All-District 2-B Baseball Team.

Aggies head coach Tony Antley was named District Coach of the Year while senior southpaw pitcher Braden Jones earned District most Valuable Player accolades.

Jones went 13-1 on the season with a 1.32 ERA and 138 strikeouts in 74 1/3 innings pitched.

Pitcher/infielder Brandon Carter, catcher Luke Tassin and second baseman Eli Watson each also received first-team nods for the Aggies.

Three Aggies — Landon Hennen, Bryon McGuire and Austin Swift all earned honorable mention on the All-District 2-5A team.

Also earning all-district honorable mention were four Simsboro players — Xavier Mosley, Nick Maryland, Hayden Rabo and Ashton Malone.

To report an issue or typo with this articleCLICK HERE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *