Two Lady Techsters earn All-Louisiana hoops honors

Louisiana Tech sophomore and Ruston native Anna Larr Roberson has been named a second-team selection to the All-Louisiana Women’s College Basketball Team. (Courtesy photo)

LA Tech Athletics Communications

Louisiana Tech junior Keiunna Walker and sophomore Anna Larr Roberson both earned all-state honors announced Thursday by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association and voted on by members and state SIDs.

Walker was voted to the first team while Roberson, a product of Ruston’s Cedar Creek High Sshool, was voted to the second team as a total of 15 student-athletes earned first, second or third team accolades.

LSU senior guard Khayla Pointer was named the State Player of the Year and UL-Lafayette head coach Garry Brodhead earned the State Coach of the Year. Tulane’s JerKaila Jordan was voted the state Freshman of the Year while Loyola-New Orleans Sandra Cannady was voted the Newcomer of the Year.

Walker averaged 16.0 points, 4.1 rebounds and 1.5 assists per game while shooting 38 percent from the field and 71 percent from the free throw line. She recorded 21 double digit scoring games, including seven 20-plus point performances as she was named second team all-Conference USA. She scored a season-high 26 points in an overtime win over Marshall and 25 points in a road victory at UAB. All five of her 20-plus efforts in C-USA play came on the road. The Lonoke, Arkansas, native ranked among the league leaders in free throws made and free throws attempted.

Roberson earned her award after averaging 11.3 points, 7.1 rebounds and 1.0 steals per game while shooting 48 percent from the field and 87 percent from the free throw line. The Ruston native recorded 14 double digit scoring games and led the team with five double doubles. She scored a career-high 22 points and added 14 rebounds in Tech’s 50-49 win over Marshall in the Conference USA Tournament. She had 19 points and 11 rebounds in a win over Sun Belt regular season champion UL-Lafayette. In C-USA action, Roberson hit 33 of 34 free throws.

Walker, Porter and Jordan were joined on the 5-person first team by UL-Lafayette forward Ty’reona Doucet and Nicholls State guard Chelsea Cain. The second team consisted of LSU-Eunice guard Alona Washington, Loyola-New Orleans guard Taylor Thomas, LSU-Alexandria guard Kelsey Thaxton, Tulane forward Krystal Freeman and Roberson.

The third team is comprised of Tulane guard Arsula Clark (11.7 ppg, 4.3 rpg); Bossier Parish forward Faith Robinson (14.0 ppg, 11.2 rpg), LSU forward Faustine Aifuwa (11.0 ppg, 8.9 rpg), UL-Lafayette guard Brandi Williams (11.9 ppg, 2.5 rpg) and Loyola forward Sandra Cannady (10.7 ppg, 7.6 rpg).

Kierra Brimzy (ULM), Ciera Daniels (LSU-Alexandria), Addy Tremie (Centenary), Nia Bishop (Xavier), Skyler Goodwin (UL-Lafayette), Alex Harrison (Louisiana College), Anna McKendree (Nicholls State) and Morgan Carrier (Southeastern LA) were named all-state honorable mention.

To report an issue or typo with this articleCLICK HERE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.