Allen, Forman are 2022 Distinguished Service Award inductees in LSHOF

Acclaimed north Louisiana writer and Lincoln Parish Journal scribe Teddy Allen and influential central Louisiana reporter, editor and publisher Garland Forman Jr. have been selected for the 2022 Distinguished Service Award in Sports Journalism from the Louisiana Sports Writers Association.

The duo will be inducted in the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame next June, LSWA president Raymond Partsch III and Hall of Fame chairman Doug Ireland announced Tuesday.

Allen, who has been north Louisiana’s preeminent feature columnist for over 30 years, has been nationally recognized for his writing while working in Shreveport, New Orleans and Ruston. Author of three books, Allen has been a focal figure for the university communications department at his alma mater, Louisiana Tech, since 2008, and has been part of the Hall of Fame selection committee for two decades-plus.

Forman is the only person to serve as president of both the Louisiana Press Association and the LSWA. While winning hundreds of state writing and editing awards including news, sports and outdoors coverage from both organizations, the Pineville native and Louisiana Christian University alumnus has been a pivotal leader for the LSWA and for over 25 years has been on the Hall of Fame selection committee.

The DSA honor, to be made official next summer in Natchitoches, means Allen and Forman will be among an elite 12-person Class of 2022 being inducted in the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame. They were selected from a 29-person pool of outstanding nominees for the state’s top sports journalism honor.

The Distinguished Service Award in Sports Journalism recipients are chosen by the 40-member Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame selection committee based on nominees’ professional accomplishments in local, state, regional and even national circles, with leadership in the LSWA as a beneficial factor and three decades of work in the profession as a requirement.  

Distinguished Service Award winners are enshrined in the Hall of Fame along with the 455 current athletes, sports journalists, coaches and administrators chosen since 1959. Just 69 leading figures in the state’s sports media have been honored with the Distinguished Service Award since its inception 39 years ago in 1982.

Allen and Forman will be among the 2022 Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame Induction Class to be spotlighted in the annual Induction Ceremony on Saturday evening, June 25, at the Natchitoches Events Center. The Induction Ceremony culminates the 2022 Induction Celebration beginning Thursday afternoon, June 23, with press conference at the Hall of Fame museum at 800 Front Street in Natchitoches.

The selection of Allen and Forman was announced Tuesday by LSWA president Raymond Partsch III.

“We could probably fill a wing of the Hall of Fame with the amount of hardware that Teddy and Garland have won in their storied careers, which is saying something. But for me, what stands out about this year’s DSA honorees is how they are truly two of the most unselfish individuals that you will be blessed to encounter in our business,” said Partsch.

“From Teddy stepping up to serve as master of ceremonies for the LHSOF Induction year after year to Garland’s tireless work with both the LSWA and LPA, their sacrifices and behind-the-scenes efforts have been immensely valuable to both the LSWA and the LSHOF. We have been truly blessed to have both Teddy and Garland to be a part of our state’s storied sports history and there is no better way to honor them than having them inducted into the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame.”

One of Louisiana’s more beloved writers, of sports and other things, Allen has piled up awards from the LSWA and many other entities since the mid-1980s. He worked for the Shreveport Journal and The Times in Shreveport, then for the Times-Picayune in New Orleans, first covering LSU and then expanding his role to step into the slot as primary columnist as the iconic Peter Finney gradually downshifted his contributions.

Recently joining the Online Journals group of 10 northwest Louisiana parish publications, headlined by the Lincoln Parish Journal and the Natchitoches Parish Journal, Allen was previously a featured columnist for Gannett’s north Louisiana papers over the last three decades.

After returning to Shreveport with The Times in the early ‘90s, Allen moved east to his beloved alma mater, Louisiana Tech (bachelor’s 1982, master’s 1984), in 2008 as a writer and editor in the university communications department. Over the last decade, he has done radio broadcasting for Tech sports (football color analyst, and recently, some baseball play-by-play) and serving as a master of ceremonies for many events at the university and for the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony for the better part of the last two decades.

He has multiple times won prestigious honors including the Associated Press Sports Editors national feature writing award and the LSWA Story of the Year, Columnist of the Year, and Sportswriter of the Year awards. For his general interest columns, he has earned both the Ernie Pyle Award as the top columnist in Mississippi and Louisiana and been named Columnist of the Year in the LPA.

Allen’s work has been featured in the Poynter Institute’s annual “Best Newspaper Writing.”

He is co-founder of, an online publication including columns, features and video segments.

To report an issue or typo with this articleCLICK HERE