Anderson, Urban earn SWAC honors

Grambling State University sophomore defensive lineman Sundiata Anderson and junior kicker Garrett Urban were selected to the All-Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) postseasons football teams, the conference announced on Monday. 

Anderson was named to the first team, while Urban nabbed the placekicker and punter on the second team. 

“I’m so happy for those two G-Men for being selected to the all-conference teams,” Grambling State interim head coach Terrence Graves said. “They put in the work and now they are being rewarded for the fruits of their labor. Hats of them for earning these honors.” 

Anderson finished with 31 total tackles, including 21 solo stops as he was a defensive force for the Tigers. The College Park, Ga. native registered a team-high five sacks and 7.5 tackles for a loss of 42 yards. In addition, the defensive lineman forced a team-high three fumbles, had two quarterback hurries and one pass breakup. 

Urban, the Grambling State Most Valuable Player of the 48th Annual Bayou Classic, had a banner year for the Tigers on special teams.  

As a field-goal kicker, Urban missed just two kicks all season (at Southern Miss and vs. Alabama A&M) as he went 15-of-17 (88.2 percent), including 8-8 inside 30 yards. In addition, the Houston, Texas native led Grambling State in points with 63 and was 18-of-19 in extra point attempts. 

As a punter, Urban registered 79 kicks for 2,844 yards, including 20 inside the 20 and four of over 50-plus yards. His career bests included 12 punts at Houston and 11 against Southern Miss. He averaged 36.0 yards per punt. Urban kicked off 46 times for Grambling State this season, averaging 53.5 yards a kickoff. 

Alabama A&M’s Aqeel Glass was tabbed the All-SWAC Offensive Player of the Year, while Florida A&M’s Isaiah Land earned the defensive player of the year honor. James Houston, of Jackson State, garnered the newcomer of the year award and teammate Shedeur Sanders picked up the freshman of the year honor. Jackson State’s Deion Sanders was selected the SWAC’s Coach of the Year.