Junior selected as LABC Player of the Year

Courtesy of LA Tech Athletic Communications

The Louisiana Association of Basketball Coaches (LABC) announced that Kenneth Lofton, Jr. has been selected as the recipient of the “Pete Maravich Memorial Award” as the Louisiana Major College Player of the Year for 2022.

Junior joined some elite company as he is only the fifth Bulldog ever to receive this honor along with Karl Malone (1984), Randy White (1988), Lonnie Cooper (1999) and Gerrod Henderson (2002).

The power forward finished the 2021-22 season averaging 16.5 points per game (fifth most in Conference USA), having recorded 28 double-digit scoring games as well as 10 20-point performances while shooting 53.9 percent from the field (second best in Conference USA).

His top scoring games came in the non-conference when he tallied a career-high 36 points at NC State and then followed that up two games later with 31 points in a victory at Santa Clara.  Both efforts earned him C-USA Player of the Week honors.

He also averaged a league-best 10.5 rebounds per game, which ranks 10th in the country.  He also totaled 17 double-doubles, eighth most in the country and the most by a Bulldog since Paul Millsap (2005-06).

Junior, who ranked 20th in the country in player efficiency, ended up totaling 347 rebounds on the season, the 10th most in program history.  He also finished with the second-most assists (91) and steals (38) on the team while also anchoring the squad with 24 blocks.   

Other accolades earned by the Port Arthur, Texas native this season include First Team All-Conference USA, NABC First Team All-District 11, C-USA All-Tournament Team and Naismith Trophy Midseason Team.

The “Pete Maravich Memorial Award” is presented annually by the men’s college basketball coaches in the State of Louisiana.  The award will be presented at the LABC’s 48th annual awards banquet, which will be held on May 7. 

To report an issue or typo with this articleCLICK HERE