LA Tech’s Sacco among NFCA Top 25 Freshmen

Courtesy of LA Tech Athletic Communications

And the hits keep coming.

Not surprising since Louisiana Tech freshman Sierra Sacco ranks No. 2 in the country in hits.

On Thursday, Sacco was among 25 finalists for the 2022 Schutt Sports/NFCA Division I National Freshman of the Year Award.

The winner will be announced prior to the start of the 2022 NCAA Women’s College World Series in Oklahoma City.

Sacco is the first Lady Techster to ever be a finalist for this prestigious award and her inclusion isn’t surprising for Tech head coach Josh Taylor.

“Sierra has been a force at the top of our line up all season,” said Taylor. “Her presence on defense is also impressive for a freshman. What she has accomplished this season is impressive, and I look forward to her being a force at the top of our line up for years to come. I am very proud of Sierra.”

The Marrero, Louisiana, native who prepped at John Curtis High School is batting .437 with 69 hits, 47 runs, 17 RBI and 20 stolen bases this year. She ranks in the top five in numerous statistical categories in Conference USA, including hits (No. 1), runs (No. 2), batting average (No. 1), on-base percentage (No. 2), and stolen bases (No. 2).

She has 20 multi-hit games this year and has hit safely in 39 of 49 contests and reached base safely in 45 of 49 games.

Defensively, Sacco has committed just one error all season while recording seven outfield assists, including six at home plate. She also took a three-run home run away from UAB in a 3-2 win over the Blazers last Sunday.

On May 12, the list will be trimmed down to the top 10 and the three finalists will be released on May 26. The 2022 Schutt Sports/NFCA Division I National Freshman of the Year will be announced on June 1.


2022 NFCA Division I National Freshman of the Year Top 25

Jordy Bahl – Oklahoma

Mac Barbara – San Diego State

Megan Bloodworth – Alabama

Jada Cecil, UC San Diego

Ella Chancey – Charlotte

Jessica Clements – Cal Poly

Alyssa Costello – Stony Brook

Mya Dodge – Northern Iowa

Michaela Edenfield – Florida State

Brooke Ellestad – St. Thomas

Bri Ellis – Auburn

Kendra Falby – Florida

Tatum Kresley – UMES

Jane Kronenberger – Notre Dame

Emma Lemley – Virginia Tech

Grace Loftin – UNCG

Jackie Masone – Drexel

Kya Matter – UMBC

Cori McMillan – Radford

Savannah Pola – UCLA

Sierra Sacco – Louisiana Tech

Cydney Sanders – Arizona State

Emma Schutter – Dayton

Emily Winstead – UNCW

Koko Wooley – Texas A&M