Dawson, Tetruashvili receive all-state honors

Courtesy of LA Tech Athletic Communications

Louisiana Tech’s Najah Dawson and Ilana Tetruashvili received All-Louisiana honors as the Louisiana Sports Writers Association announced its annual women’s tennis awards on Tuesday.

Both seniors were named Second Team All-Louisiana after helping LA Tech record 18 victories this past spring season, the second most in program history.  The team also set program records for longest winning streak (14) and longest home winning streak (12). 

Dawson, a transfer from St. John’s, was also voted LSWA Newcomer of the Year, becoming the first LA Tech player in program history to receive this award.  She made an immediate impact on the courts, posting a 14-7 dual singles record, the second most wins on the squad. 

The Queens, New York native picked up wins on three different lines, going 1-1 at No. 2, 10-4 at No. 3 and 3-2 at No. 4.  She provided the clinching point in victories over Texas State, Arkansas State and New Orleans.  She also tallied a 13-10 dual doubles mark, playing every match from the No. 2 position.

In her fourth season with the team, Tetruashvili registered a 17-5 dual singles record, which was the fifth most in program history.  She went 2-0 at No. 3, 8-3 at No. 4 and 7-2 at No. 5 while stringing together an eight-match winning streak at one point.

The Holon, Israel native claimed the clinching point versus Tarleton State, Incarnate Word and Nicholls State.  In dual doubles, she recorded a 12-9 record while playing all but one match from the No. 2 spot.

This marked the first time since 2017 that multiple LA Tech players were voted on an All-Louisiana Team.  Tetruashvili earned All-Louisiana Honorable Mention in 2021. 


To report an issue or typo with this articleCLICK HERE