LPJ announces 2022 all-parish football team

From L to R: Jadon Mayfield, Jerrod Baugh and Jaden Osborne were this year’s superlative award winners for the 2022 all-LPJ Team. Not pictured is Aaron Jackson.

By Malcolm Butler

After a special season that saw Ruston return to the Superdome for the first time since 1998, the Bearcats recorded a clean sweep of the specialty awards on the 2022 all-Lincoln Parish Journal Football Team.

All three of our parish teams earned postseason appearances as Ruston (12-2, state runner-up), Cedar Creek (7-5, second round) and Lincoln Prep (3-8, first round) saw playoff action.

However, it was the Bearcats who made the deepest run, coming up just a win short of the state title.

Head coach Jerrod Baugh was named the parish’s Coach of the Year after leading Ruston to a 12-2 record, the program’s first district title in more than 30 years and its first state title game appearance in more than two decades.

Despite playing one of the – if not the – toughest schedule in the state, the Bearcats won 12 straight games before coming up short in a 17-10 loss to Destrehan in the Non-Select Division I title game.

A pair of Bearcats shared the Offensive Player of the Year award as quarterback Jaden Osborne and wide receiver Aaron Jackson combined to form a dangerous one-two punch through the air for the Bearcats.

Osborne completed 111 of 206 passes for 1,579 yards and 17 TDs while rushing for 385 yards and two more scores. The dual threat signal caller was one of the key components to the Bearcats success as his maturation process in the pocket proved key.

Jackson was Osborne’s favorite target. Despite a potent Bearcat rushing attack, Jackson caught 57 passes for 919 yards and 11 scores after returning to the Ruston roster after one season at Neville. Jackson’s ability to consistently get open deep kept opposing defenses honest and aided in the Cats rushing attack.

Mayfield was the centerpiece on a Ruston defense that was loaded with playmakers in 2022. The junior linebacker recorded 119 tackles, including 75 solo stops and 44 assisted tackles. He registered eight tackles for loss, 4.5 sacks, 2 interceptions (1 for TD), 2 forced fumbles and 2 fumble recoveries.

The 33-man all-Lincoln Parish Journal team included 18 Bearcats, 11 Cedar Creek Cougars and 4 Lincoln Prep Panthers.


2022 All-Lincoln Parish Journal Football Team


Co-Offensive MVP: Jaden Osborne (Ruston), Aaron Jackson (Ruston)

Defensive MVP: Jadon Mayfield (Ruston)

Coach of the Year: Jerrod Baugh (Ruston)



QB: Jaden Osborne, Ruston

RB: Dyson Fields, Ruston

RB: Lane Thomas, Cedar Creek

WR: Aaron Jackson, Ruston

WR: Brian Osborne, Cedar Creek

WR: Brandon Heard, Lincoln Prep

OL: Sam Nations, Ruston

OL: Nicholas Thompson, Cedar Creek

OL: Mason Skipper, Ruston

OL: Josh Colvin, Ruston

OL: Jake Smith, Cedar Creek

Flex: Caden Middleton, Cedar Creek

Flex: Jordan Hayes, Ruston

Flex: Bralyn Mayfield, Lincoln Prep

Flex: Ladd Thompson, Cedar Creek


DL: Christian Davis, Ruston

DL: Geordan Guidry, Ruston

DL: Ahmad Breaux, Ruston

DL: Lathan Elmore, Lincoln Prep

LB: Jadon Mayfield, Ruston

LB: Zheric Hill, Ruston

LB: Quincy Lewis, Cedar Creek

DB: Ray Owens, Ruston

DB: Nate Johnson, Ruston

DB: Austin Webb, Cedar Creek

DB: Chauncey Harper, Lincoln Prep

Flex: Jordan McWain, Ruston

Flex: Carter Hill, Cedar Creek

Flex: Kyran McConnell, Ruston

Flex: Lawson Lillo, Cedar Creek


PK: Davis Long, Cedar Creek

P: RJ Brown, Ruston

Returner: Jordan Hayes, Ruston


All-LPJ Specialty Awards Year-by-Year

Coach of the Year

2022: Jerrod Baugh (Ruston)

2021: Matt Middleton (Cedar Creek)

Offensive Player of the Year

2022: Jaden Osborne (Ruston), Aaron Jackson (Ruston)

2021: Dyson Fields (Ruston)

Defensive Player of the Year

2022: Jadon Mayfield (Ruston)

2021: Carson Riley (Cedar Creek)

To report an issue or typo with this articleCLICK HERE