Tech’s White wins Mortell Award

Courtesy of LA Tech Athletic Communications

Louisiana Tech redshirt junior holder Noah White has won the 2022 Mortell Holder of the Year award, the organization announced Friday afternoon.

White played a crucial role in Tech, converting 72% (18-25) of field goal attempts and 97% (38-39) of extra point attempts in 2022. The Ruston product also recovered a fumble to extend the Dogs’ drive in the second quarter during a week three loss at No. 4 Clemson.

“I’m kind of in shock honestly,” White said. “This is like the Heisman for holders. When I walked onto the team five years ago I didn’t know how to hold at all and I was just trying to do what I could to see the field and help the team any way I could. From where I started to being awarded the Holder of the Year award, makes my journey much sweeter.”

White is the first Conference USA holder to win the award and the eighth recipient of the award since its inception in 2015.

This past season White showed off his versatility, holding for a pair of kickers, the left-footed Jacob Barnes and the right-footed Buck Buchanan.

White served as the primary holder for LA Tech the past four seasons, assisting in converting 110 of 111 extra point attempts while helping Tech kickers connect on 47 of their 62 field goal attempts.

“The HOTY was something me and the other specialists have talked about for years now and they wanted it for me even more than I wanted it for myself,” White added. “My teammates worked with me a lot and played a role in me achieving this honor.”

The HOTY Foundation was established. The HOTY Foundation is a non-profit (501c3) organization that selects the Mortell Holder of the Year Award winner, given to the top field goal holder in college football. The winner has an opportunity to raise money for a charity of his choice. To date, previous winners Peter Mortell (Minnesota, 2015) and Garrett Moores (Michigan, 2016) have raised over $30,000 for the University of Minnesota Children’s Hospital and the VA in Ann Arbor, Michigan. The HOTY Foundation is a platform to recognize and appreciate those who show both excellence on the college football field and outstanding community involvement. Holding has been a thankless job for too long, the Foundation is a way to now say Thank You in a big way.

Other finalists that were up for the award included, Kai Kroger (South Carolina), Brad Robbins (Michigan) and Shane McDonough (NC State).

To report an issue or typo with this articleCLICK HERE