Ruston makes presence known on LSWA 5A All-State Team

Photo Credit: Reggie McLeroy

By Kyle Roberts

Ruston High continues to make waves after a spectacular 2022 campaign on the gridiron.

Released at midnight on Saturday, the Louisiana Sports Writers’ Association announced its 5A All-State selections, and three Bearcats in senior defensive lineman Christian Davis, senior offensive lineman Mason Skipper and junior linebacker Jadon Mayfield.

”I’m obviously really pleased with those guys being named first team,” Bearcat head coach Jerrod Baugh said. “I think that speaks volumes for what our team was able to accomplish this year, and people are taking notice all over the state on what a good football team we had. Those guys were integral pieces to what we got done this year.

Baugh was also awarded 5A Coach of the Year for leading his team to the championship game. While not wanting to downplay the significance of receiving the award, Baugh was quick to note that his honor was only possible due to the team’s and the entire staff’s efforts this year.

“For me, it’s a testament to what those kids have brought to the table and what they committed to,” Baugh said. “Not only to this program but also to this school. Also to our coaching staff: for what those guys do and the work they put in. It’s really a testament to where our football program is at this point. All the people behind that are the coaches and players that have come through here since I’ve been the head coach. I appreciate the work that they have all put in through the years.”

Skipper was part of an offensive line that propelled the offense to over 5,000 yards from scrimmage with 47 rushing touchdowns and 17 touchdown receptions. Mayfield finished with 119 tackles with 4.5 sacks, two picks with one returned for a touchdown, two forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries. Davis tallied 76 tackles with nine tackles for loss, five sacks and one interception. 

Ruston also placed 10 players on honorable mention in junior defensive lineman Ahmad Breaux, senior offensive lineman Josh Colvin, junior punter Will Fendley, junior defensive lineman Geordan Guidry, senior tailback Dyson Fields, sophomore linebacker Zheric Hill, senior wide receiver Aaron Jackson, junior defensive back Nate Johnson, senior defensive back Jordan McWain and senior quarterback Jaden Osborne.
“I’m not sure the last time we had that much representation on the all-state team,” Baugh said. “That is really indicative of what this program was able to accomplish this year.”

To report an issue or typo with this articleCLICK HERE