Mitcham returning to role as LPSB President

Pictured is Lincoln Parish Schools Superintendent Ricky Durrett (left) and LPSB President Joe Mitcham during Monday night’s school board meeting. (Photo by T. Scott Boatright)

By T. Scott Boatright


If it’s not broke, don’t fix it.

That seemed to be the position for the Lincoln Parish School Board Tuesday night as it voted to return President Joe Mitcham and Vice Presdient Linda Henderson to their respective positions heading up the LPSB.

The officers vote was held after LPSB members were sworn into office as a group during the meeting held before a packed house at the Lincoln Parish Schools’ Central Office meeting room.

Both Mitcham and Henderson were the sole nominees for each position and were both unanimously reappointed to the offices.

The big news of the meeting was the LPSB officially approving a tax incentive plan to bring a Buc-ee’s travel center to Ruston, but the meeting began with the recognition of parish Students, Teachers and Principals of the Year.

Tristan Smith of Cypress Springs Elementary School, Harper Anderson of A.E. Phillips Middle School and Lauryn Vernon of Simsboro High School were honored as Students of the Year. Mallori Moody of CSE was named the New Elementary Teacher of the Year and Abigail Ambrose of Ruston Junior High was named the New Middle School Teacher of the Year.

Lauren Casey was named the Early Childhood Education Teacher of the Year, Simsboro’s Paige Smith was named Elementary Teacher of the Year, Adam Novak was named the Middle School Teacher of the Year and Jill Sutton of Ruston was tabbed as High School Teacher of the Year.

Jennifer Martin of Choudrant earned Elementary Principal of the Year accolades while Keisha Douglas of RJHS was named Middle School Teacher of the Year.