LSMSA senior chosen as U.S. Presidential Scholars Program candidate

Rosie Shultz (’23) of Ruston, a senior at the Louisiana School for Math, Science, and the Arts (LSMSA), has been chosen by the White House Commission on Presidential Scholars and the United States Department of Education from nearly 3.6 million high school seniors as one of approximately 5,000 candidates for the 2023 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program.

Shultz served as president of both her sophomore and junior classes and is currently executive president of LSMSA’s Student Government Organization. She is a member of LSMSA’s Artist-in-Training program for Vocal Performance, the Associate of General Studies program at both LSMSA and NSU, LSMSA’s theatre department, and the school’s choir. Recently named LSMSA’s Student of the Year, Shultz has been selected multiple times for All State Choir, is heavily involved in Ruston Community Theatre, and serves as chairwoman of the Louisiana High School Democrats.

“We cannot imagine a better representative of the Louisiana School than Rosie,” said Executive Director Dr. Steve Horton. “Her tremendous leadership skills and drive perfectly embody the spirit of excellence we strive for at LSMSA.”

Candidacy for the program is based on outstanding performance on the ACT Assessment or the College Board SAT, nomination by a Chief State School Officer, or nomination by a partner recognition organization. The program, established in 1964, recognizes distinguished graduating seniors for their accomplishments in academic success, leadership, service to school and community, demonstration of exceptional scholarship and talent in the visual, creative, and performing arts, and demonstrated ability and accomplishment in career and technical fields. Semifinalists will be named in mid-April, and up to 161 distinguished graduating high school seniors will be named as U.S. Presidential Scholars in May. U.S. Presidential Scholars are honored for their accomplishments during the online National Recognition Program each June. To commemorate their achievement, the Scholars are awarded the Presidential Scholars Medallion.