Ruston High celebrates ’22 football season with banquet

By Kyle Roberts

The Ruston High Bearcats officially concluded the 2022 season with a banquet to honor the 12-2 season, State-Runner Up, District 2-5A Championship team with hundreds of supports in attendance.

“I think this was very well representative of our togetherness as a team and football program,” Ruston head coach Jerrod Baugh said. “You can tell anytime a kid was called for an individual award that there teammates were cheering them on. Anytime you have as much as success as we did throughout the year, you’re going to have a lot of things to go over. I know it can get long, but I think this community and the parents just absolutely want to get involved and celebrate the season these guys had. I told the younger guys that they have big shoes to fill. After tonight, we need to turn the page and move on to the next season. We’ve enjoyed this one, and move onward.”

Emceed by Nick Brown, the night saw all players, coaches, and support staff introduced before individual awards were given out. The award list is presented below.

Finally, artist and LPJ photographer Reggie McLeroy made a special presentation to Baugh with a limited edition drawing to honor the season. The Thursday edition of the Lincoln Parish Journal will include information on how to purchase the limited edition drawing for fans of Ruston football.

Presentation of Awards

Michael Parker Coaches Award— Dyson Fields

Fred Dean Booster Club Scholarship— Moises Rivera

Greg “Big Coach” Williams Scholarship— Ray Owens

Bearcat Football Club Scholarship— Jamious Blackmon

Jack Lindsey Memorial Scholarship— Matt Garrett

Chick Childress Award— Jadon Mayfield

Hoss Garrett Award— Aaron Jackson

Special Teams MVP— Lane Ashby

Scholastic Awards

Calvin Baker – 3.5217 GPA

Keldon Johnson – 3.6087 GPA

Matt Garrett – 3.6458 GPA

Triston Dumas – 3.7559 GPA

Mason Skipper – 4.125 GPA

Parker Perez – 3.9583 GPA

R.J. Brown – 3.9600 GPA

Captain Awards

Offense— Jaden Osborne

Defense— Christian Davis

Special Teams— Dylar Richmond