Lady Cougars, Lady Panthers garner all-district honors

Allie Furr (11) was named Co-MVP for District 2-1A and was joined by five teammates on the all-district teams. (Photo by Darrell James)

By Malcolm Butler

The District 2-1A girls basketball all-league team had plenty of Lincoln Parish flavor to it as a total of six Cedar Creek and four Lincoln Prep players earned honors.

Allie Furr headlined the group, earning District 2-1A co-Most Valuable Player honors. Furr, who was named the Lincoln Parish Journal Defensive Player of the Year, averaged 18.0 points, 7.1 steals, 5.2 assists and 4.1 rebounds per game this year after taking over the point guard responsibilities for the program. Furr helped guide the Lady Cougars to a 22-7 record and the co-District 2-1A title and the quarterfinals of the Select School Division IV playoffs.

Cedar Creek was also represented by senior forward Lizzie McAdams (first team), senior post Lillian Soto (second team), junior forward Leah Sutherland (honorable mention), junior forward Elli Dickerson (honorable mention) and junior guard Olivia Underwood (honorable mention).

Asijah Wright headlined Lincoln Prep’s honorees, earning first team all-district accolades. Wright helped lead the Lady Panthers to the Non-Select School Division IV playoffs this season. She was joined by Jayleen Spann (second team), Shedronna Green (honorable mention), and Synniah Spann (honorable mention).

First Team All-District 2-1A

Darcy Edgar (Ouachita Christian)

Lizzie McAdams (Cedar Creek)

Janie Simpson (River Oaks)

Ava West (Ouachita Christian)

Asijah Wright (Lincoln Prep)

Co-MVP: Allie Furr (Cedar Creek), Anna Del Melton (OCS)

Coach of the Year: Stan Humphries (OCS)

Second Team All-District 2-1A

Rebecca Garner (River Oaks)

Ashlyn Odom (River Oaks)

Kenna Quayle (St. Frederick)

Jayleen Spann (Lincoln Prep)

Lillian Soto (Cedar Creek)

Honorable Mention All-District 2-1A

Jeresa Anzalone (St. Frederick)

Elli Dickerson (Cedar Creek)

Brady Eppinette (St. Frederick)

Ellie Kate Fitzhugh (OCS)

Shedronna Green (Lincoln Prep)

Synniah Spann (Lincoln Prep)

Leah Sutherland (Cedar Creek)

Olivia Underwood (Cedar Creek)

Avery Woodring (River Oaks)

Hannah Woodward (OCS)