Trio of Bearcats named honorable mention on all-state team

By Kyle Roberts

Ruston High had three Bearcats named honorable mention to the Louisiana Sports Writers’ Association 5A all-state baseball team released on Friday in seniors Justin Szymanski, Nick Robinson, and JR Tollett all garnering the postseason honor.

“I’m just so proud for them because those three guys, they really worked hard for everything they’ve gotten and the success that they’ve had,” Ruston head coach Zack Smith said. “I’m really happy that they received the honors for all-state, for all they’ve done to reach that point.

“And the good thing about those three get to continue their career in college, and I’m looking forward to watching them be successful and their playing careers in college.”

Robinson pitched 58.1 innings total while striking out 43 batters on the season. Szymanski batted .344 on the year with two home runs, while Tollett batted .357 and recorded 11 extra-base hits.

All three will go on to play at the next level, with Robinson joining Grambling State, Szymanski to South Arkansas, and Tollett headed to play for UL-Lafayette.

The complete team is as follows:

P Drew Ferguson West Monroe So. 10-1

P Landon Victorian Barbe Jr. 8-0

P Jake Brown Sulphur Sr. 10-2

P Giancarlo Arencibia Rummel Jr. 7-1

C Clayton Pourciau Catholic Sr. .402

IF Sam Ardoin Sam Houston Sr. .391

IF Mikey Ryan Rummel Jr. .411

IF Ryan Darrah Brother Martin So. .434

IF Hayden Federico West Monroe Jr. .420

OF John Pearson West Monroe Jr. .424

OF Lane Lusk Live Oak Sr. .472

OF Donovan Lasalle Barbe Sr. .510

UTL Joe Bordelon Alexandria Sr. 6-4

UTL William Good Jesuit Sr. 7-1

UTL Michael O’Brien John Curtis 6-1

UTL Alex Ainsworth Catholic Sr. 7-0

UTL Trey Hawsey West Monroe Jr. .397



Honorable mention

Bradyn Garner, West Monroe; Trent Anderson, West Monroe; Chris Clark, Alexandria; Wes Oates, Pineville; Grant Trahan, Barbe; Kasen Bellard, Barbe; Dillion Bird, Sulphur; Bryce Fontenot, Sulphur; Mason Canter, Central Lafourche; Trey Doucet, H.L. Bourgeois; Ethan Lovell, Terrebonne; Tyler Solar, Thibodaux; Justin Szymanski, Ruston; JR Tollett, Ruston; Bryce Wilson, Chalmette; Brock Davis, Live Oak; Cooper Smith, Live Oak; Kevin Robinson, Byrd; Austin Anderson, Haughton; Sawyer Simmons, Benton; Austin Lorenz, Alexandria; Brady Hoffman, Pineville; Nick Robinson, Ruston; Luke Benoit, Sulphur; Grayden Harris, Central; William Schmidt, Catholic; Swayer Pruitt, Live Oak; Bryce Pitts, Jesuit; Gavin Simeon, Brother Martin; Patrick Laiche, Brother Martin; Mason Estrada, Covington; Gates Barre, Jesuit; Branson Arceneaux, Thibodaux; Josh Eames, John Curtis; Walker Wicklund, Captain Shreve; Alex Dupuy, Natchitoches Central; Clayton Brandon, Airline; Gavin Nix, Rummel; Brock Laird, Natchitoches Central; Trenton Lape, Parkway; Barrett Newman, Parkway; Frank Randol, Brother Martin; Shane Lee, Destrehan; Kade Anderson, St. Paul’s; Drew Tomlin, Alexandria; Ean Rodrigue, Thibodaux; John Carmichael, Destrehan; Trip Dobson, Catholic; Dominic Pellegrin, Holy Cross; Steven Spalitta, Fontainebleau; Aiden  Grab, Mandeville.