Tech’s Bates, Grambling’s Mack earn all-region honors

Ethan Bates earned first team all-South Region honors. (Courtesy Photo)

Courtesy of LA Tech and GSU Athletic Communications

Louisiana Tech’s Ethan Bates and Grambling State’s Keylon Mack earned ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Division I First Team All-South Region honors.

The 2023 teams, comprised of eight regions, are voted on by Members of the American Baseball Coaches Association vote on the 2023 teams, comprised of eight regions. The process is led by the ABCA Division I All-America committee.

Bates, who has also been named Third Team All-America and a two-time All-Conference USA pitcher, was stellar on the mound in his first season with the Bulldogs. The right-hander posted a team-best ERA of 3.02 with 25 appearances on the bump in relief.

He registered a 4-3 overall record while throwing 44.2 innings with 57 strikeouts. He tallied 10 saves, third most in C-USA and tied for the second most in a single season in program history.

Mack, who helped lead the Tigers to a 22-7 mark in SWAC play this year, started started 54 games behind the plate for Grambling State. He batted .350 with 19 doubles, 16 home runs, 47 runs and 59 RBI while drawing 44 walks.

The senior out of Gladewater, Texas, earned first team all-SWAC honors this year and was recently invited to play in the 2023 MLB HBCU Swingman Classic.

First Team All-Region selections are nominated for ABCA/Rawlings All-America honors. The ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Div. I All-America teams will be announced the morning of Friday, June 16 prior to the start of the 2023 NCAA Division I College World Series in Omaha, Nebraska.

NCAA Division I South All-Region
First Team
C | Julian Brock, UL-Lafayette
1B | Keylon Mack, Grambling State
2B | Gavin Dugas, LSU
3B | Tommy White, LSU
SS | Jacob Gonzalez, Ole Miss
OF | Dylan Crews, LSU
OF | Xane Washington, Nicholls State
OF | Kemp Alderman, Ole Miss
DH | Hunter Hines, Mississippi State
P | Hagen Smith, Arkansas
P | Paul Skenes, LSU
P | Tanner Hall, Southern Miss
RP | Ethan Bates, Louisiana Tech
RP | Justin Storm, Southern Miss

Second Team
C | Calvin Harris, Ole Miss
1B | Brandon Hager, Arkansas State
2B | Tyler Bischke, New Orleans
3B | Luke Mann, Missouri
SS | Dustin Dickerson, Southern Miss
OF | Jace Bohrofen, Arkansas
OF | Colton Ledbetter, Mississippi State
OF | Spencer Nivens, Missouri State
DH | Slade Wilks, Southern Miss
P | Jackson Wells, Little Rock
P | Ty Floyd, LSU
P | Jacob Mayers, Nicholls State
RP | Cooper Rawls, UL-Lafayette