Tech soccer lands three on all-state team

Flavie Dube (12) earned first team all-state honors by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association.

Courtesy of LA Tech Athletic Communications

Three Louisiana Tech women’s soccer players were recognized on the 2022 All-Louisiana Team in an announcement by the Louisiana Sports Writers Associate (LSWA) on Friday.

Flavie Dube earned first-team honors, while Kalli Matlock and Emma Jones picked up honorable mentions.

Dube, the reigning Conference USA Freshman of the Year, led LA Tech in her first season in goals, assists, points, and shots on goal while averaging 56 minutes per contest during her freshman season.

The Ontario native is the program’s first-ever conference Freshman of the Year award winner and also picked up a second-team All-Conference USA nod. 

Matlock, a Louisiana product out of Shreveport, was one of only three players to play and start in all 19 matches this season, logging 1,322 minutes of action, and received Academic All-District recognition this season from the College Sports Communicators. 

She was second on the team in goals, assists, points, and shots on goal, playing most of the season from the defensive position. Tech’s defense held opponents to one or fewer goals nine times and recorded three shutouts. 

Jones, who returned from a torn ACL in the 2021 season, started 18 of 19 matches and captained her team to a fourth-place finish in the CUSA standings, their best since 2018 and the first Conference USA Championship tournament bid since 2019. 

The Hutto, Texas native and Texas State transfer won CUSA Offensive Player of the Week for her two goals, including the game-winner, at Florida Atlantic. Jones ranked third on the team in goals, points, and shots on goal, earning second-team All-Conference USA at the forward position. 

This is the first All-Louisiana honor for Dube, Matlock, and Jones, and ties the most All-LA mentions for the program since three were honored in 2019. 

2022 LSWA All-Louisiana Women’s Soccer Team
Player of the Year: Gracie Armstrong, Northwestern State
Newcomer of the Year: Gracie Armstrong, Northwestern State
Freshman of the Year: Ida Hermannsdottir, LSU
Coach of the Year: Sian Hudson, LSU
First Team
Gracie Armstrong, Northwestern State
Ida Hermannsdottir, LSU
Mya Guillory, Southeastern
Flavie Dube, Louisiana Tech 
Lindsi Jennings, LSU
Emma Monnet, Louisiana Christian
Wasila Diwura-Soale, LSU
Inge Konst, ULM
Olivia Draguicevich, Northwestern State
Natalee Henry, Northwestern State
Chloe DeShazer, Northwestern State

Honorable Mention
Hallie Field, Northwestern State
Emma Jones, Louisiana Tech
Lena Goppel, ULM
Angelina Thoreson, LSU
Kalli Matlock, Louisiana Tech
Nicole Henry, Northwestern State
Mara Grutkamp, ULM
Gabby McDonald, Centenary
Rachel Young, McNeese
Karleen Bedre, Louisiana
Mollie Swift, LSU