Lincoln Parish announces Students of the Year

Thirteen students in fifth, eighth and twelfth grades in Lincoln Parish have been named Students of the Year for their respective schools.

Students were nominated and chosen to represent their schools. The students were based on leadership, service in the community, citizenship and academic achievements.

“We want to highlight every year our students of the year chosen by school,” Lincoln Parish School Board superintendent Ricky Durrett said. “They then move on to compete at the state level. So it’s quite an honor. This is just a small recognition of the great work that they’ve done and their family’s work and and the school’s work with them. Student in the year is a big deal for us, and it’s a big deal to compete at the state level. We’ve had several move on to that and compete well. I’m just proud of all these young students at every level that our students of year.”

The seniors in the parish were Richard Canterbury from Simsboro High, Mary Laura Hunt from Ruston High and Tanya Mina from Choudrant High.

The eighth grade students selected were Isabella Ammons from Choudrant High, Katelyn Barrett from Simsboro School, Hannah Daulton from Ruston Junior High and Maggie Rogers from A.E. Phillips.

The fifth graders nominated were Luke Allen from Choudrant Elementary, Mia Le from A.E. Phillips, Logan Mack from Dubach Elementary, Alice Roberts from Ruston Elementary, Natalie Scroggins from Simsboro School and Hadeed Yasir from Cypress Springs.

One student from each grade will be chosen to represent the parish in the state Student of the Year competition.