Tech’s Terry named C-USA Coach of the Year

Louisiana Tech’s Matt Terry was named the 2023 Conference USA Coach of the Year. (Courtesy Photo)

Courtesy of LA Tech Athletic Communications

The 2022-23 Conference USA men’s golf all-conference and superlative honors were announced Monday with Louisiana Tech head coach Matt Terry being named C-USA Coach of the Year and fifth-year senior James Swash earning First Team All-Conference USA.

Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year, all-conference and all-freshman selections are determined by Golfstat national rankings, while the Coach of the Year was selected by a vote of the league’s head coaches.

Terry’s Bulldogs reached the match play portion of the 2023 C-USA Championship for just the second time in program history, which included a win over No. 2 seed Middle Tennessee to reach the match play finals after finishing third in stroke play.

The sixth-year head coach at LA Tech coached Swash who ended up winning the individual conference title with a -2 performance during stroke play (earned an automatic bid to the NCAA Regionals).

Terry became just the third head coach in the program’s history to earn conference coach of the year honors (first since 1982).

Swash became the first LA Tech golfer since 1980 to become an individual medalist, coming back from three strokes down in the third and final round to win the event by two strokes. It was one of his four top-20 finishes during the 2022-23 season and one of his two top-10 finishes (tied for eighth at the Border Olympics. He finished in the top 35 individually in eight of his 10 tournaments.

2022-23 Conference USA Men’s Golf Awards

Player of the Year
Owen Stamper, Middle Tennessee

Freshman of the Year
Markus Varjun, Middle Tennessee

Phillip Hatchett Coach of the Year
Matt Terry, Louisiana Tech

First Team All-Conference
Owen Stamper, Middle Tennessee
Vicente Marzilio, North Texas
Dongjin Park, Charlotte
Raghav Chugh, Rice (
James Swash, Louisiana Tech

Second Team All-Conference
Tucker Allen, North Texas
Khavish Varadan, UAB
Michael Barnard, Middle Tennessee
Alex Maguire, Florida Atlantic
Max Schliesing, UTEP

Third Team All-Conference
Max Sturda, Florida Atlantic
Hunter Bott, UTSA
Kevin Jegers, Middle Tennessee
Christian Fanfelle, UTSA
Jay Kirchdorfer, Rice

All-Freshman Team
Markus Varjun, Middle Tennessee
Carter Maneth, Middle Tennessee
Lukas Boandl, Rice
Alvaro Roldos, North Texas
Brayden Bare, UTSA