Champions Plaza dedication postponed

Courtesy of Louisiana Tech Athletic Communications

Due to international cargo shipping delays, one of the six Hall of Fame statues set to be displayed in the Sarah and A.L. Williams Champions Plaza will not arrive in time for today’s previously scheduled celebration.

Due to that, the dedication celebration will be postponed.

“This is a special moment for all involved at Louisiana Tech,” said Vice President and Director of Athletics Dr. Eric A. Wood. “We intend to make sure everything is in place to give these hall of fame athletes and their families the recognition and honor they deserve.

“We are currently in active communication with everyone involved to identify a date and time in the near future that ensures the entire Tech family is together for this special event.”

The Sarah and A.L. Williams Champions Plaza has been made possible by the support of former LA Tech student-athlete Chris Richardson, a member of the 2023 Louisiana Tech Athletics Hall of Fame Class.

The Plaza will honor LA Tech legends Terry Bradshaw, Fred Dean, Karl Malone, Kim Mulkey, Willie Roaf, and Teresa Weatherspoon along with the team and individual national champions.

Details of the date and time of the rescheduled plaza dedication will be released as soon as they are available.